Stressful & anxiety

So I had my first orientation for college today and I am already breaking down. The program I choice was Police Foundations at a local college.

The reason I am breaking down is because I don’t think I want to be a police officer. I don’t know why I don’t want to be one.. My initial thought for a career was to be helping others, but I feel I can impact peoples lives a lot more if I do something else. I just don’t want to be a cop.. I don’t know why. Maybe because they have such a bad reputation and everyone wants to be one. (I don’t want people to be scared of me when all I want to do is help them)

What I truly want to be is a social service worker, such as a counsellor for a high school. I want to be a counsellor because I know how tough being in high school can be and how lonely you can get. I want to help as much people as I can so no one has to go through what I or others had too. I just want to help people and make them happy.

5 thoughts on “Stressful & anxiety

  1. This is a good starting point to have ! Good intentions. To help and make people around you happy you have to do only one thing. You must be fully expressing who you are. You have to work as hard as your inner voice says you should at the thing that interests you the most. If you do that, you will be happy and that will inspire those around you to follow your example! Finding that thing that interests you most can take a minute, or a life time. It may not even be just one thing. Only you will know. If you were attracted to being a cop then don’t ignore that feeling because of poor public opinion.You can always be the best damn cop your precinct has ever seen if you put your soul into it! (If you do become a cop remember to think for yourself and bring compassion with you to work every day)

    Like

    1. I don’t even know if its the cop thing. For the past year Ive been all over the map with what I wanted to do. Social Services just seems right to me every time I say it. It just hits home and no other career that Ive thought about has really done that for me. So this may be a good start for me

      Like

  2. don’t make the wrong choice, take your time and find something that gives you a spark, something that catches your attention and then you’ll have found the job that’s right for you, don’t settle for money, settle for happiness

    Like

    1. Yeah I completely agree with you!! I switched my program and I am pursuing a Social Service Worker job 🙂 2 years in college, then hoping to get my Masters degree.

      I believe happiness over money but money is always good! Better rich than poor! 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

